Meet our UI/UX intern — Hakim Luyima

Meet our UI/UX intern — Hakim Luyima

Who is Hakim?

I’m a 21 year old UI/UX designer who’s interested in building products that are, accessible,inclusive and people love to use. I’m a believer in the idea that design isn’t what things look like, but design is how things work. When not drawing rectangles and squares, I like to play golf and drink Iced vanilla lattes.

How did you get to know about AirQo?

I got to know about AirQo from a LinkedIn post of a friend of mine who works there. I then went on to download the mobile app. I thought it was well designed.

What is your experience so far with the AirQo team/work culture/products?

The “A” in AirQo stands for the Avengers.It’s been a superhero experience. The work culture at AirQo has given me the opportunity to design for a larger number of users and think about design as a tool to solve real life problems as though I was Captain America. The nuances in the skillset of the cross functional teams has also allowed me to identify UX needs in other fields such as data science and hardware.

What are you currently working on?

I am currently working on Interaction states for the mobile app, redesign of the AirQo website map as well as information architecture for the AirQo platform re-design.

Any challenges you have met so far?

It has been a relatively steep learning curve to understand a lot of the technical terminology around the topic of Air Quality monitoring but the team has made it easy for me to make that transition quickly. I’d say i’m now up to speed thanks to Martin, Belinda, Faith, Paul and Noble who have been very helpful.

What are your future aspirations?

I aspire to firstly, contribute in a tangible way towards the design system at AirQo by bringing to light new ways we could use design to better solve the Air quality monitoring problem. I generally aspire to work on global products that people love to use.


Are you a developer? We invite you to leverage our open-source air quality data API on your app or project. Click here to get started.